Monday, June 20, 2011

Scientists Honored on U.S. Postage Stamps

ST. PAUL, MN — Four American scientists were honored on Forever stamps issued by the U.S. Postal Service during a special ceremony at the Science Museum of Minnesota.

The distinguished scientists are: chemist Melvin Calvin; botanist Asa Gray; physicist Maria Goeppert Mayer; and biochemist Severo Ochoa. The stamps go on sale nationwide at local Post Offices, online at and through the toll-free line, 1-800 782-6724.

With these stamps, the third in the American Scientists series, the Postal Service honors four Americans who, while dedicating their lives to understanding the fundamental process of nature, made extraordinary contributions to the advancement of science.

“In this small way, we have created a lasting tribute to four extraordinary scientists, and as we share their legacy with Americans everywhere, it is our fervent hope that these stamps also will help to light the spark of science in young minds everywhere,” said Pritha Mehra, Postal Service vice president, Mail Entry and Payment Technology. who dedicated the stamp.

“And, whenever you purchase these wonderful new stamps, they will be good for . . .

Full story at:


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home