Saturday, May 26, 2012

Postage Stamps Honor Movie Directors

First Day of Issue: May 23, 2012 Silver Spring, MD 20910

With these stamps, the U.S. Postal Service honors four great filmmakers who captured the many varieties of the American experience.

These extraordinary directors — Frank Capra, John Ford, John Huston, and Billy Wilder — created some of the most iconic scenes in American cinema. They gave audiences an unforgettable (and in some cases, deeply personal) vision of life.

The stamp art combines a portrait of each man with a scene from one of his . . .



Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home