Thursday, January 17, 2013

Myanmar Celebrates 65th Anniversary of Independence with New Postage Stamps

First Day of Issue: January 4, 2013 - Myanmar

Myanmar has issued a pair of new postage stamps to help celebrate their 65th anniversary of independence.

On 4 January 1948, the nation became an independent republic, named the Union of Burma, with Sao Shwe Thaik as its first President and U Nu as its first Prime Minister.

Unlike most other former British colonies and overseas territories, it did not become a member of the Commonwealth.

Learn more at: Myanmar Post and Telecommunication

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home