Sunday, May 5, 2013

U.K. Stamps Celebrate 50 Years of Dr. Who

First Day of Issue: March 26, 2013 - United Kingdom

The United Kingdom has issued a set of eleven new postage stamps, and a five stamp miniature sheet, celebrating the 50th anniversary of the world’s longest running science fiction series in TV history, Dr. Who.

Featured on the eleven stamp set are the present Doctor, Matt Smith, as well as David Tennant, Christopher Eccleston, Paul McGann, Sylvester McCoy, Colin Baker, Peter Davison, Tom Baker, Jon Pertwee, Patrick Troughton and the First Doctor, William Hartnell.

The five stamp miniature sheet features the Doctor’s space and time travelling machine, the world famous Time and Relative Dimension in Space (TARDIS), and four of the Doctor’s most famous foes; a Dalek, a Cyberman, an Ood and a Weeping Angel.

Learn more at: Royal Mail

Labels: ,


Post a Comment

Subscribe to Post Comments [Atom]

<< Home